The Council of Overseers work with the dean and faculty of the business school. Their advice is sought on key strategic issues, and they are an important resource to the dean. It is the mission of the council to work with the dean and faculty to ensure that the business school meets the highest standards attainable for a graduate school of business. Council members serve renewable three-year terms.


Jay Collins, Council of Overseers Chairman

T. Jay Collins

Chairman, Council of Overseers
Former President & CEO Oceaneering International, Inc.


Osmar Abib

Osmar Abib

(Rice BS '81)
Managing Director, Global Head of Oil and Gas, Credit Suisse

Judy Ley Allen

(Rice '61)
Partner, Allen Investments
Subha V. Barry

Subha V. Barry

(Rice MBA '85)
Vice President & General Manager, Working Mother Media

Bruce Bilger

Senior Advisor, Lazard Freres & Co.

Jack S. Blanton

(Rice EMBA '01)
Chairman, Nicklos Drilling Co.

Lee K. Boothby

(Rice MBA '92)
President and CEO, Newfield Exploration Company

Vicki Whamond Bretthauer

(Rice BA '79)

Robert T. Brockman

Chairman and CEO, Reynolds and Reynolds

William (Bill) Caesar

CEO, WCA Waste Corporation

Clint D. Carlson

(Rice BA '79, MBA '82)
President and Chief Investment Officer, Carlson Capital

John A. Carrig

Janet F. Clark

Director, EOG Resources

James W. Crownover

Former Director, McKinsey & Company, Inc.
(Rice BA '65, BS '66)

Edmund Donaldson

(Rice MBA '91)
Managing Director, Portfolio Management, USAA Real Estate Company

C. Richard Everett

(Rice BA '67, BAR '68)
Chairman and CEO Everett Interests, C. Richard Everett Investments, LLC

Douglas L. Foshee

(Rice MBA '92)
Sallyport Investment, LLC

Karen Ostrum George

(Rice BA '77, MACC '78)
Associate, Ralph S. O'Connor & Associates

George Y. Gonzalez

(Rice BA '90)
Partner - Energy, Mergers and Acquisitions and International Practice Groups, Haynes and Boone, LLP

Martyn Goossen

Managing Director, JP Morgan Private Banking

Timothy T. Griffy

(Rice BA '79, MACC '80)
Retired Partner, Assurance Services Ernst & Young LLP

Joseph A. Hafner

Retired Chairman, Riviana Foods, Inc.

B. Ben Hollingsworth

(Rice BA '64)
Chairman, BBH Capital

Tommy O. Huie

(Rice BA & BS '87)

F. E. (Emil) Jacobs

(Rice BA '73)
Retired Vice President of Research and Development ExxonMobil Research and Engineering Company

R. Chris Kreidler

(Rice BA '85, MBA '87)
Former Executive Vice President and CFO, Sysco Corporation

Robert T. Ladd

(Rice BA '78)
Managing Partner, Stellus Capital Management, LLC

Robert D. "Doug" Lawler

(Rice MBA '02)
President & Chief Executive Officer Chesapeake Energy

Richard K. McGee

(Rice BA '83)
Vice President & General Counsel Plains All American Pipeline, L.P.

D. Cal McNair

(Rice MBA ’95)
Vice Chairman and Chief Operating Officer, Houston Texans
Ali Moshiri

Ali Moshiri

President, Chevron Africa and Latin America Exploration and Production Company
Scott S. Nyquist

Scott S. Nyquist

Senior Partner, McKinsey and Company
Lecturer in Management - Marketing
Adam Peakes

Adam C. Peakes

(Rice BA '95)
Senior VP & CFO, Noble Corporation

Robert A. Peiser

Retired CEO & President Imperial Sugar Company

James J. Postl

Retired President and Chief Executive Officer, Pennzoil-Quaker State Company

Robert L. Potter

(Rice BCO '73)
Former President, FMC Technologies, Inc.

Peter Schwab

(Rice BA '78, MACC '80)
Managing Director, Piper Jaffray & Co.

Anup Sharma

General Manager, Digital Productivity, GE Digital

L.E. Simmons

President, SCF Partners
Anne Taylor

Anne Taylor

Vice Chairman and Managing Partner, Deloitte LLP
Troy Thacker

Troy W. Thacker

(Rice BS '95)
President and Chief Executive Officer Total Safety U.S., Inc.

Stephen M. Trauber

(Rice BA '84)
Vice Chairman, Global Head of Energy Power Chemical Citigroup

James S. Turley

(Rice BA '77, MACC '78)
Retired Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Ernst & Young

Jesse J. Tyson

President & CEO, NBMBAA

Lori Vetters

President and CEO, Houston Technology Center
Scott Wise

Scott Wise

(Rice BA ’71)
President, Cullen Foundation

Ex-Officio Members

Lynn Lednicky

(Rice MBA ’91)
Partner, Newport Board Group
Alumni Association Board (JGSAA)

Mr. Sameer Bandhu

(Rice MBA ’07)
Product Line Leader
GE Transportation
President - Jones Partners Board

Mr. Bobby Tudor

Rice Board Chairman
Chairman and CEO
Tudor, Pickering, Hold & Co., LLC

Emeriti Members

Mr. Keith T. Anderson
(Rice MBA ’83)
Chairman and CIO
Anderson Global Macro LLC

Mr. Jack S. Blanton, Sr.
Eddy Refining Company

Mr. John F. Bookout, Jr.
Retired President and Chief Executive Officer
Shell Oil Company

Mr. W.J. Bowen
Retired Chairman
Transco Energy Company

Mr. Philip J. Burguieres
Vice Chairman
Houston Texans

Pastor Kirbyjon H. Caldwell
Senior Pastor
Windsor Village United Methodist Church

Mr. James L. Dunlap
El Paso Corporation

Mr. Peter J. Fluor
Chairman and Chief Executive Officer
Texas Crude Energy, Inc.

Mr. Terry M. Giles
Giles Enterprises, Inc.

Mr. Henry O. Hernandez Jr.
(Rice BA '78)
Managing Director of Diversity & Inclusion
Executive Consulting

Mr. Harold S. Hook
Retired Chairman and Chief Executive Officer
American General Corporation

Mr. Steven J. Kean
Executive Vice President & Chief Operating Officer
Kinder Morgan Inc.

Mr. George Martinez
(Rice BA '63)
CEO , Allegiance Bank Texas

Mr. Steven L. Miller
Chairman and President
SLM Discovery Ventures, Inc.

Mr. R. Ralph Parks
Oaktree Capital (H.K.) Ltd.

Mr. W. Bernard Pieper
(Rice BA '53, BS '54)
Pieper Interests

Mr. John B. Poindexter
Chairman and Chief Executive Officer
J. B. Poindexter and Co., Inc.

Mr. Jerry H. Pyle
President and Chief Executive Officer
Friedkin Automotive Companies

Mr. Ashok Rao
Medical Adhesive Revolution Inc.

Mr. J. Hugh Roff, Jr.
President and Chief Executive Officer
Roff Resources LLC

Mr. David Ross
III Ross Interests

Mr. Thomas Roupe

Mr. Daniel S. Sanders
Retired President
ExxonMobil Chemical Company

Mr. Louis Sklar
Retired Executive
Vice President Louis Sklar

Mr. Mark A. Wallace
President & Chief Executive Officer
Texas Children's Hospital

Mr. William A. Wise
Wise Interests