Applications for Fall 2025 will open on August 1.

School Updates

Provost announces newly promoted and tenured faculty

Provost Amy Dittmar shared the following message today with the Rice community:

The end of the academic year is a special time as we celebrate all that we’ve accomplished as a community of teachers, researchers and scholars. Today, I am especially pleased to announce and honor the faculty members who have recently been promoted or tenured.

Tenure recognizes faculty members' achievements in scholarship, teaching, mentoring, service and leadership at Rice and in their professional communities. Promotions and tenure are effective July 1.

Please join me in congratulating the following faculty. Other candidates are still being reviewed at this time, and we look forward to congratulating them in the fall.

Promotions to professor:
Daniel Cohan, Civil and Environmental Engineering
Peter Loewen, Shepherd School of Music
Peter Lwigale, BioSciences
Shiqian Ma, Computational Applied Mathematics and Operations Research
Aditya Mohite, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
Omid Veiseh, Bioengineering
Yuji Zhao, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Promotions to associate professor with tenure:
Rossella Calvi, Economics
Jesse Chan, Computational Applied Mathematics and Operations Research
James Chappell, BioSciences
Jing Chen, Psychological Sciences
Christina Diaz, Sociology
Jeremy Fiel, Sociology
Melodie French, Earth Environmental and Planetary Sciences
Isaac Hilton, Bioengineering
Eric Huntington, Transnational Asian Studies
Matthew Jones, Chemistry
Danielle King, Psychological Sciences
Yunmi Kong, Economics
Daniel Kowal, Statistics
Anastasios Kyrillidis, Computer Science
Brandon Levin, Mathematics
Meng Li, Statistics
Alessandro Piazza, Jones Graduate School of Business
Akane Sano, Electrical and Computer Engineering
Santiago Segarra, Electrical and Computer Engineering
Thomas Senftle, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
Lauren Stadler, Civil and Environmental Engineering
Christopher Tunnell, Physics and Astronomy
Rosa Uribe, BioSciences
Ming Yi, Physics and Astronomy

Promotion to research professor:
Pablo Yepes, Physics and Astronomy

Promotion to teaching professor:
Scott Solomon, BioSciences

Promotions to associate teaching professor:
Cassandra Diep, Kinesiology
Risa Myers, Computer Science
Amanda Perkins-Ball, Kinesiology
Anne-Marie Womack, School of Engineering
Carissa Zimmerman, Center for Teaching Excellence

You May Also Like

School Updates

James Weston, the Harmon Whittington Professor of Finance, will join the Rice Business leadership team as senior associate dean for degree programs. Our thanks and congratulations to Barbara Ostdiek for her exceptional tenure in this position for the past 11 years as she returns to engaging our students in the classroom.