

RICE CLEANTECH INNOVATION COMPETITION 2023

PATHWAYS FOR INDUSTRIAL DECARBONIZATION AND INVESTMENT

AGENDA

7:00 – 8:30 am	Registration and Breakfast	11:30 am – 1:00 pm	Lunch
8:30 – 9:00 am	Student and Judges Orientation	1:00 – 1:45 pm	Aatel Energy
9:00 – 9:05 am	Welcome Remarks – George Andrews	1:45 – 2:00 pm	Break
	Associate Dean of Degree Programs, Rice Business	2:00 – 2:45 pm	The Decarbonauts
9:05 – 9:30 am	Bill Arnold Memorial Keynote – Tak Ishikawa President and CEO, Mitsubishi Heavy Industries America	2:45 – 3:00 pm	Break
		3:00 – 3:45 pm	Emissions Impossible
9:30 – 9:45 am	Transition to Case Competition	3:45 – 4:00 pm	Judges Finalize Scorecards
9:45 – 10:30 am	Alternative Fools	4:00 – 4:15 pm	Closing Remarks
10:30 – 10:45 am	Break	4:15 – 5:30 pm	RCIC Networking Event
10:45 – 11:30 am	SustainaBattle	5:30 – 8:00 pm	Partio (optional)

KEYNOTE SPEAKER



Takajiro Ishikawa President and CEO Mitsubishi Heavy Industries America

In his role as President and CEO of Mitsubishi Heavy Industries America (MHIA), Takajiro Ishikawa leads the company's North American team to deliver innovative and integrated solutions that help realize carbon neutrality, improve quality of life, and ensure a safer world.

Prior to MHIA, Ishikawa ran the asset management division at Mitsubishi Corporation, a 450-person organization with assets under management of \$24 billion plus assets under advisement of \$40 billion. In 2017, he moved to Houston to begin the next phase of his career at MHIA, responsible for the company's business development and investments. He has an MBA from Harvard Business School and a bachelor's degree from Waseda University, Tokyo.

Ishikawa is a natural-born storyteller with expertise in both industrial and mining assets, and investment in startup technology companies. Most importantly, he is passionate about advancing the energy transition and achieving MHI's goal to achieve net zero emissions through the company's entire value chain by 2040.

BUSINESS.RICE.EDU/RCIC

COMPETITION JUDGES

Tim Bartlett Deborah Byers Brad Caldwell Crystal Coffman Alex De Sousa Kevin Doffing Kera Gautreau David Maher Murtuza Marfani Kay McCall Tom Nelson David Pruner Mark Palfrey Sylvain Riba Ricky Sakai Seema Santhakumar Brijesh Singh Nethra Subramanya Kirk Hjelte Waltz



Learn more about each of our judges by scanning the QR code.

PARTICIPATING SCHOOLS

Dartmouth College Emory University Rice University Rutgers University Southern Methodist University

University of California, Berkeley University of California, Los Angeles University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill University of Pennsylvania University of Rochester University of Texas at Austin University of Virginia University of Washington Yale University

THANK YOU TO OUR SPONSORS

PRINCIPAL



ENGAGED







Derek Fry Executive Chair **George Reeves** Vice Chair, Sponsorship Co-Chair

Yvonne Trejo Sponsorship Co-Chair, Finance Chair Preetham Botta Marketing and Communications **Derek Yenzer** Competition Operations Chair Andrew Wynn Case Prompt Kazybek Mussakhan First Year Representative

Faculty Advisors:

Linda Capuano, Rice Business Professor in Practice of Energy Management **Duncan Dickerson**, Rice Business Lecturer in Management – Energy, Vice President of Lazard

BUSINESS.RICE.EDU/RCIC